Friday, July 3, 2009

City Of The Living Dead & The Living Dead At The Manchester Morgue

Today I bring you a CD released by Beat Records (catalog code CDCR 24) which contains two complete scores on a single CD. You get the Lucio Fulci film CITY OF THE LIVING DEAD (1980) aka THE GATES OF HELL with music by Fabio Frizzi as well as THE LIVING DEAD AT THE MANCHESTER MORGUE (1974) aka LET SLEEPING CORPSES LIE with music by Giuliano Sorgini.

Please note that I originally ripped this using EAC (Exact Audio Copy) to the FLAC audio format then I used foobar2000 to convert the FLAC audio files to MP3 files. I used LAME 3.98.2 with the "-b 320" setting which basically creates a 320kbps CBR MP3 file which is the highest quality MP3 that can be made. I have included the LOG and CUE files from EAC so that you know the ripping was done correctly and of course this facilitates burning back to a standard music CD if you so wish. I also threw in a M3U playlist file.

Also included in the download are large TIFF images of the CD artwork along with smaller JPG images (such as the cover presented above) plus I embedded the smaller JPG image into each track so that you get a nice thumbnail image on your software/hardware player.

Here is the track listing courtesy of the Soundtrack Collector website:

01. Introduzione, paura, liberazione (04:13)
02. Fatti misteriosi (02:53)
03. Irrealta di suoni (02:56)
04. Occhi di brace (03:18)
05. Verso l'alba (01:48)
06. Apoteosi del mistero (04:01)
07. Suoni dissonanti (02:55)
08. Paura vivente (01:27)
09. Paura e liberazione (02:39)
10. Tenebre viventi (02:18)
Tracks 1 - 10: Fabio Frizzi - Paura nella citta dei morti viventi

11. John Dalton Street (02:24)
12. Surreal (02:33)
13. Trance (01:47)
14. Strait Jacket (02:26)
15. The Risen Dead (03:16)
16. Aggression (01:19)
17. The Death Of The Dead (02:36)
18. The Torment Of The Dead (02:23)
19. Mysterious Country (01:35)
20. Southgate Hospital (01:44)
21. The Living Dead (02:25)
22. Drowned Guthrie (02:18)
23. George (02:05)
24. Manchester M2 GLD (02:26)
25. Edna (01:21)
Tracks 11 - 25: Giuliano Sorgini - The Living Dead At The Manchester Morgue

Total Duration: 01:01:06

Here is the RapidShare link ---> CLICK HERE to download

Please note that the file is a compressed RAR file and will need to be decompressed with something like WinRAR or WinZIP etc.

Until next time ... listen until your ear's bleed !!!


  1. I have found a few versions of Fabio Frizzi's 'City Of The Living Dead/Gates Of Hell' (isn't the use of double/triple names for a film so confusing!) but without a doubt this is the best quality rip I have found. All credit to you for taking the time and effort to present this amazing music in the highest possible quality and likewise, including great scans.

    If that wasn't enough, there is also the ultra-rare Giuliano Sorgini 'The Living Dead At The Manchester Morgue/Let Sleeping Corpses Lie'.
    Soundtrack! I have seen the film a few times but never come across the soundtrack before till now so many thanks for that as well.

    As a regular visitor to many 'soundtrack' blogs I can honestly say in terms of selection and quality this is easily one of the best I have ever come across. Keep up the good (and often thankless!) work, your efforts are really appreciated.

  2. Thank you for the kind words :)