Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Blood For Dracula & Flesh For Frankenstein

Today I present the scores to BLOOD FOR DRACULA (aka Andy Warhol's Dracula) and FLESH FOR FRANKENSTEIN (aka Andy Warhol's Frankenstein). Both movies were made back to back around 1973/1974 by director Paul Morrissey and both are scored by Claudio Gizzi.

These two films have achieved cult status long ago and thanks to home video (especially the DVD format) they are readily accessible in proper widescreen uncut versions. So there isn't much that I can say that hasn't already been said but the one thing that I want to mention is this: why oh why do the "critics" always point out the Dracula film as the superior of the two? I simply don't understand it myself for it is very clear to me that the Frankenstein film is the superior film. Now don't get me wrong, I love them both, but there is something about the Frankenstein movie that just endears it to me. I think it boils down to the level of excess present in the Frankenstein film. Both movies have it but Frankenstein has more of it. The cinematography is more lush in general, the blood and gore is way over-the-top, Udo Kier's performance of the Baron is simply brilliant with constant wonderful moments that simply can't be matched by his performance of The Count (although the blood vomiting "The blood of these whores is killing me" part in Dracula comes close) and both films have a level of "sleaze" to them but again Frankenstein outdoes Dracula in this regard. So to the critics I say this: you are wrong! Although both are wonderful FLESH FOR FRANKENSTEIN is clearly the better of the two!

The CD release (seen above) came out in 1993 on the RCA label (catalog code RCA Records OST 119) and although it is a single CD it contains both scores. The music itself is not what you might expect for two outrageously over-the-top films filled with such oddness. Although I enjoy soundtrack music I am no music critic nor do I possess enough study/knowledge of music to be able to describe it well but this is simply put beautiful music. The very first track alone is one of the most sad yet touching pieces of music I've ever heard and captures the mood of BLOOD FOR DRACULA perfectly. It is a crying shame that this CD is now out-of-print.

Starting with this post I will be making both a MP3 version as well as a lossless FLAC version available for download. In the past I have always only done MP3 but I have almost everything I have posted to date in both FLAC and MP3 so today I will do both and slowly over time I will eventually go back to the older postings and add FLAC versions as well for your download pleasure.

As per my usual methods the CD was ripped with EAC to the FLAC format. I then used foobar2000 to create the 320 CBR MP3 version. Both downloads include the EAC made LOG file and CUE Sheet file. Both include high quality artwork scans.

Track listing:

01. Old Age Of Dracula (Main Titles) (03:04)
02. In The Cellars Of The Castle (01:51)
03. Nostalgia (00:46)
04. On The Journey To Italy (00:57)
05. First Victim (00:56)
06. On Journey Again (01:12)
07. An Old Song (03:29)
08. Dracula's Theme (01:00)
09. More Blood (01:01)
10. At The Inn (03:20)
11. Memories Of Rumania (00:56)
12. Dracula Is Unmasked! (02:09)
13. A Regret (01:11)
14. The Vampire Escapes (00:55)
15. The Last Victim (00:50)
16. Pursuit And Death Of Dracula (02:07)
17. Dracula's Theme (End Titles) (01:30)
Tracks 1 -17: Blood For Dracula

18. Main Titles (02:29)
19. Frankenstein's Theme (02:56)
20. In The Fields (01:27)
21. Experiments In Laboratory (02:11)
22. Castle Gardens (01:50)
23. Secret Passage (03:09)
24. The House Of Ill Fame (03:15)
25. A Love Story (01:46)
26. The Creature Sees The Light (02:57)
27. Dinner At The Castle (03:53)
28. The Dream Is Over (01:45)
29. Love And Death (01:17)
30. Frankenstein's Theme (Piano) (01:46)
31. Death Of The Baron (03:42)
32. End Of A Myth (03:18)
Tracks 18 - 32: Flesh For Frankenstein

Total Duration: 01:04:55

DOWNLOAD ---> 320 CBR MP3 from RapidShare

DOWNLOAD ---> Lossless FLAC from MegaUpload

Please note that these files are compressed RAR files and will need to be decompressed with something like WinRAR or WinZIP etc.

Until next time ... listen until your ear's bleed !!!

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Emanuelle & The Last Cannibals + Zombi Holocaust

Today I bring you the scores to EMANUELLE & THE LAST CANNIBALS plus ZOMBI HOLOCAUST. Both scores are by Nico Fidenco and are together on a single CD that was released in 1996 by Lucertola Media (catalog code "LMCD 006"). Please note that the USA release of ZOMBI HOLOCAUST (affectionately known as DR. BUTCHER M.D. - MEDICAL DEVIATE) has a completely different score that was put in place by the American distributor and that is NOT present on this CD release (nor am I aware of it ever being made available).

Below are the front and back of the CD booklet and as you can tell it is designed so you can flip it to showcase the cover that you prefer (it comes shipped with the top image as the front):

Here is the track listing courtesy of the Soundtrack Collector website:

01. Make Love On The Wing (Vocal Version) (02:57)
02. Make Love On The Wing (Orchestral) (02:53)
03. Waiting For The Cannibals (02:48)
04. Wild Nightmare (02:30)
05. The Meal Is Over (02:16)
06. Make Love On The Wing (2nd Version) (02:54)
07. Make Love On The Wing II (02:56)
08. Cannibals At Work (00:54)
09. Cannibals In Pursuit (01:04)
10. Make Love On The Wing (3rd Version) (02:12)
11. Cannibals' Dance (01:58)
12. The Dark Side Of The Soul (02:15)
13. The Dark Side Of The Soul II (02:49)
Tracks 1 - 13: Emanuelle e gli ultimi cannibali

14. Fascinating Horror (02:06)
15. Theme From "Zombi Holocaust" (Make Love On The Wing) (04:02)
16. From Another World (00:44)
17. The Magic Is In Progress (01:22)
18. Zombie Parade (01:13)
19. Resurrection (01:36)
20. From The Beyond (01:20)
21. Living In The Future (00:45)
22. Living In The Past (01:32)
23. A Dive Into The Past (04:11)
24. A Dive Into The Past II (00:52)
25. Zombie Parade (01:48)
26. A Dive Into The Past III (04:12)
Tracks 14 - 26: Zombi holocaust

Total Duration: 00:56:09

Please note that I originally ripped this using EAC (Exact Audio Copy) to the FLAC audio format then I used foobar2000 to convert the FLAC audio files to MP3 files. I used LAME 3.98.2 with the "-b 320" setting which basically creates a 320kbps CBR MP3 file which is the highest quality MP3 that can be made. I have included the LOG and CUE files from EAC so that you know the ripping was done correctly and of course this facilitates burning back to a standard music CD if you so wish. I also threw in a M3U playlist file.

Also included in the download are large TIFF images of the CD artwork along with smaller JPG images (such as the cover presented above) plus I embedded the smaller JPG image into each track so that you get a nice thumbnail image on your software/hardware player.

Here is the RapidShare link ---> CLICK HERE to download

*** UPDATE ***
The link above is for the MP3 version but here is a lossless FLAC version: CLICK HERE to download

Please note that the file is a compressed RAR file and will need to be decompressed with something like WinRAR or WinZIP etc.

Until next time ... listen until your ear's bleed !!!