Wednesday, September 9, 2009

The Cat O' Nine Tails

Previously I had posted the scores to Dario Argento's THE BIRD WITH THE CRYSTAL PLUMAGE and FOUR FLIES ON GREY VELVET (both by Ennio Morricone). Well finally I am now completing what is called Argento's Animal Trilogy by posting the 2nd film IL GATTO A NOVE CODE aka THE CAT O' NINE TAILS (1970 or 1971 depending on the source). Again this score is by the great Ennio Morricone and this CD is the 2006 release by GDM (catalog code: GDM CD Club 7037) which is the longest version of this great score and is considered to be complete.

Please note that I originally ripped this using EAC (Exact Audio Copy) to the FLAC audio format then I used foobar2000 to convert the FLAC audio files to MP3 files. I used LAME 3.98.2 with the "-b 320" setting which basically creates a 320kbps CBR MP3 file which is the highest quality MP3 that can be made. I have included the LOG and CUE files from EAC so that you know the ripping was done correctly and of course this facilitates burning back to a standard music CD if you so wish. I also threw in a M3U playlist file.

Also included in the download are large TIFF images of the CD artwork along with smaller JPG images (such as the cover presented above) plus I embedded the smaller JPG image into each track so that you get a nice thumbnail image on your software/hardware player.

Here is the track listing courtesy of the Soundtrack Collector website:

01. Ninna nanna in blu (titoli) (02:36)
02. 1970 (08:38)
03. Sottintesi (02:18)
04. Parabola del paradosso (02:54)
05. Paranoia prima (03:20)
06. Paranoia seconda (01:28)
07. Dissociazione (02:42)
08. Dissociazione seconda (02:58)
09. Passeggiata notturna (film version) (05:37)
10. Metafora finale (02:30)
11. Placcaggio (02:33)
12. Passeggiata notturna (alternate version) (03:38)
13. Placcaggio (alternate version) (02:32)
14. Il gatto a nove code (12:30)
15. Ninna nanna in blu (#2) (02:47)
16. Placcaggio (original single version) (03:19)
17. Il gatto a nove code (#2) (05:24)
18. Dario Argento speaks! (05:49)

Total Duration: 01:13:33

Here is the RapidShare link ---> CLICK HERE to download

Please note that the file is a compressed RAR file and will need to be decompressed with something like WinRAR or WinZIP etc.

Until next time ... listen until your ear's bleed !!!


  1. I would like to thank you for making available all these great italian soundtracks. Most of these are on the web but not in 320 with full artwork scans included. thanks for time and effort in posting these.

  2. Thanks so much for these! BEST!